Website Manager

Dyer Little League

Vern Baker Award

The Vern Baker Award


During his long association as a manager with Dyer Little League, Vern Baker looked for or worked to develop certain traits in his players.  Some of the more important of those traits were attitude, leadership, ability, determination and competitive desire.  In memory of Vern Baker and his many contributions to Dyer Little League and to help instill Vern’s Little League ideals in future generations of Dyer Little League players, this award has been established to recognize the 12 year-old that through the course of the past season that has best exemplified these principles.  The recipient of this award stands out as a great Dyer Little League ambassador for contributions both on and off the playing field.


Award Candidates:

All current season players -league age 12

Award Criteria:

Positive attitude both on and off the field

Proven leader that understands and values the team concept

Solid ability with strong work ethic

Great determination and fighting spirit

Competitive desire without compromising sportsmanship


Each major manager submits  two nominations


The winner of the Vern Baker Award will be announced at the league’s annual picnic.


  Vern Baker Award Winners

2002 - Jordan Obarski

2003 - Eric Hanck

2004 - Kevin Heinrich

2005 - Adam Bastie

2006 - Ben Buoscio

2007 - Adam VanMilligan

2008 - Zac Vesci

2009 - Geoff Pucci

2010 - Joseph Strus

2011 - Nic Rossi

2012 - Owen Piatt 

2013 - Cade Smith

        2014 - Andrew Etter  

2015 - AJ Golfis

2016 - Eric Tinsley

2017 - Josh Warn

2018 - Dominic Bonk/Nicole Vollrath

2019 - Jack Moore and Dylan Hein

2020- Anthony Alfaro

2021- Colten Cunningham

Copyright © 2023 Dyer Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In